SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 2
BRAHMS: Violin Concerto
SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 1
with Veronika Eberle, violin

“When Paavo Järvi conducts the Viennese Classics, the symphonies develop an energy that even their composers would probably not have dared to dream of 200 years ago. He has already demonstrated this with the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie in his Beethoven project, but also in many rarely performed Haydn symphonies – most recently on Wednesday in the Elbphilharmonie with the first two symphonies of Franz Schubert … The violin concerto in D major op. 77 by Brahms sounded no less great … With the slim line-up of the Kammerphilharmonie, the symphonic work, which otherwise seemed so pithy and massive, lost all of its gravity, and Eberle was able to brilliantly reveal all the nuances of her complex violin part.”
Hamburger Abendblatt, Helmut Peters, 12 April 2024

“Paavo Järvi’s music-making at the highest level, in its immediacy, its inner consistency, combined with the orchestra’s outstanding preparation and excellent knowledge of the score, brought to life a precision of interpretation that has threatened to be lost in recent years, almost acquiring a slightly pejorative flavour. The same applies to the interpretation of the Second Symphony … Järvi is reaping the rewards of his intensive work with the Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, which has now lasted 20 years. Everything Järvi undertakes, whether the complete symphonies of Beethoven, Schumann, Brahms or now Haydn, is honoured with prestigious awards worldwide … ”, Michael Pitz-Grewenig, 13 April 2024