The 9 Symphonies

Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

RCA Red Seal

Johannes Brahms
Ein Deutsches Requiem (DVD & Blu-Ray)
Valentina Farcas (soprano)
Matthias Goerne (baritone)
State Choir Latvija
Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie

Available from:

On Good Friday, 10 April 1868, Johannes Brahms conducted the world premiere of his “German Requiem” in the Bremen Cathedral. Exactly 150 years later in April 2018, Paavo Järvi and The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen returned to the Cathedral to give a special anniversary performance of the Requiem together with the Latvian State Choir and soloists Valentina Farcas and Matthias Goerne. The performance, which was broadcast on German State TV, has just been released on DVD and Blu-Ray for the first time by C Major.

“Despite the fact that Brahms called his work a Requiem, he never meant it as primarily a mass for the dead. Instead it is intended as a comfort for those who mourn, a mass for the living to help them back on the path to new hope. This is a work full of spiritual optimism that feels particularly relevant for the times that we live in. A time when many are mourning the loss of someone close to them and everyone is anxious about both the present and the future. Brahms’ music gives us an opportunity to reflect and replenish our spirits at precisely the moment when it is most needed.”  Paavo Järvi

Olivier Messiaen
Le Tombeau resplendissant
Les Offrandes oubliées
Un Sourire
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich

Release: September 2019

Richard Wagner
Orchestral selections from
Der Ring des Nibelungen
NHK Symphony Orchestra, Tokyo

Béla Bartók
Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta
Divertimento for String Orchestra
Dance Suite
NHK Symphony Orchestra, Tokyo

Johannes Brahms
Symphonies Nos 3 & 4
Deutsche Kammerphilharmone

Release: March 2019