The Jury of the International Classical Music Awards (ICMA) has announced the winners of the 2024 edition, honouring Paavo Järvi and the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich with the ’BEST SYMPHONIC’ prize for their recording of Bruckner’s Symphony No. 8 on Alpha Classics.

Revealing this year’s winners, ICMA wrote ‘To commemorate the bicentenary of Anton Bruckner’s birth, Paavo Järvi, conducting “his” Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, has produced one of most idiomatic Brucknerian readings of recent years, one that combines luminosity and transparency with the specific gravity we have come to expect from this great symphonic cathedral, and deservedly winning the award for the best symphonic recording of the year.’

The ICMA jury comprises members of the following media: ANDANTE (Turkey) – CRESCENDO (Belgium) – DAS ORCHESTER (Germany) – DEUTSCHE WELLE (Germany) – IMZ (Austria) – – MDR KLASSIK (Germany) – MUSICA (Italy) – MUSIK & THEATER (Switzerland) – OPERA (UK) – PAPAGENO (Hungary) – PIZZICATO (Luxembourg) – POLSKIE RADIO CHOPIN (Poland ) – RADIO 100,7 (Luxembourg) – RADIO KLASSIK STEPHANSDOM – RADIO ROMANIA MUZICAL (Romania) – RESMUSICA (France) – RONDO CLASSIC (Finland) – SCHERZO (Spain) – UNISON (Croatia)